Metro banner

Our History

The tranquil and expansive surrounds of Castlebrook Memorial Park are indicative of the lifestyle and natural beauty for which the area is renowned.

Castlebrook was commissioned in the early 1960’s as Australian Memorial Park when a 180 acre property was converted into a non-sectarian, perpetual care memorial park.

The Chapel and Crematorium were commissioned in 1973.

A special Care Endowment Fund was set up to guarantee perpetual maintenance of the park as a place of beauty and seclusion and which enabled the engagement of renowned artists for the design of features, monuments and buildings.

A feature of the area is a monument to the infamous 1804 Vinegar Hill uprising, which occupies a unique place in the history of the settlement of Sydney.

On the 5 March 1804 a band of Irish convicts broke out of the Castle Hill Barracks the previous night with the intention of joining other rebel convicts and marching firstly on Parramatta and then onto Sydney to seize ships in the harbour and make their way to Ireland and freedom.

However, their plans were thwarted by the NSW Corp led by Major George Johnston and his soldiers who caught up with them and the ensuring battle saw 15 convicts killed and the others punished and returned to imprisonment.

The monument pictured above, known as the Vinegar Hill Battle which stands inside Castlebrook Memorial Park, was a Bicentennial project by Blacktown City Council and is part of the 200 year plus story depicting scenes from the beginning of European settlement.

We are available for you 24 hours a day.

(02) 9629 1477    Contact us online